Sunday, 9 November 2014

Book Launch at Five Leaves, Nov 13

The Woman Under the Ground and Other Stories

Novelist Megan Tayor's outstanding first collection of short stories is to be launched at a party on November 13th at Five Leaves Bookshop Nottingham. 7pm.

Artist Nikki Pinder, who created the breathtaking cover design and an original line drawings for each story, will talk about her work and answer questions. A slideshow of the images will run throughout the event.

All welcome - no ticket required. Refreshments served.

Powerful and beautifully observed, ‘The Woman Under the Ground’ is novelist Megan Taylor’s first collection of short stories. The writing is brooding and mysterious with finely drawn characters, so often the victims of absence and loss: a child taken to a neglected museum by her forsaken father; a woman revisiting the scene of an ended affair; a couple taking a road trip to try to reconcile the death of their daughter…
From dark adult secrets to night visitors to the dangerous passions of small girls, these stories explore fractured relationships and moments of self revelation with an uncanny honesty and insight.
Megan Taylor is the author of How We Were Lost (Flame books, 2007), The Dawning (Weathervane, 2010) and The Lives of Ghosts (Weathervane, 2012).

No comments:

Post a Comment